VACATION: All orders placed between July 29 and August 12 will not ship until August 13.

As a thank you for your patience, use code VACAY for 15% off your order! 

VACATION: All orders placed between July 29 and August 12 will not ship until August 13.

As a thank you for your patience, use code VACAY for 15% off your order! 

Book Review: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

August 21, 2019

Book Review: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

"Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn't know or jumped from lightening too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother."

Synopsis: 

Set in 1969 in the quiet town of Barkley Cove, North Carolina, Where the Crawdads Sing is a coming of age story about a young girl who was abandoned by her family members and left to be raised by the land. Kya, also known by the locals as the Marsh Girl, is the youngest member of a family of 7. At the open of the novel, Kya's family members leave her one by one starting with her mother and ending with her alcoholic and abusive father. As a young girl left all alone, Kya learns to live of the land and to provide for herself. Her journey spans over many years and while shunned by many of the people of Barkley Cove, Kya forms relationships with only a select few who become very pivotal players in her story. Also woven among Kya's tale is the murder of Barkley Cove's beloved Chase Owens and the investigation that ensues. 

My Thoughts: 

I have very mixed feelings about this book, so I'm breaking my thoughts up into the good and the bad. 

The good. If only speaking in terms of enjoyment, then I have to say that I adored this book. While sad and heartbreaking, Kya's tale was very intriguing to me and I loved the author's beautiful descriptions of the marsh and its inhabitants. It many times read like poetry and I could most definitely pick it up again and reread it just to savor the words. 

The bad. I really think that the author did such a great job with the descriptions of the marsh which really makes me wonder why she didn't do a little more research into the geography of North Carolina. The novel is set on the east coast of North Carolina and the author frequently talks about the characters making a trip over to Asheville like it's the next big town over. In actuality, Asheville is on the other side of the state and probably more like 7-8 hours away. I was able to suspend reality enough to still enjoy the novel, but it just seems like a little more care could have been given to getting to know the area. Granted, I have lived in North Carolina for about 12 years, so this may bother me more than others. 

All in all, I think this is definitely a book worth reading and would recommend it for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Pat Conroy. 





Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Blog

Kindergarten 2020 Homeschool Plan
Kindergarten 2020 Homeschool Plan

July 29, 2020

Well. Here we are, friends. I'm going to be a homeschooling mom for the 2020-2021 school year. This was not an easy decision. Before I had kids I thought I might homeschool them one day. I quickly changed my mind when I became an actual parent. Even with a background in education (elementary school teacher and librarian), I realized that I didn't want to homeschool and would most likely be sending my kids to public school. Then COVID...

 

View full article →

Unlearning + Learning: An Anti-Racist Book Club
Unlearning + Learning: An Anti-Racist Book Club

June 11, 2020

Over the past months, I've learned that I have a lot to learn concerning the history of our country and the issues of systemic racism. I've recognized that I, too, have biases that I was unaware of. Waking up to this reality has felt a little like grieving or at least going through the grief process. It hit me hard in the beginning and I was sad and angry. Then I didn't know what to do with the pain of it and was overwhelmed by it all. And now I'm accepting the fact that I have a lot of work to do and that this is a marathon, not a sprint...

 

View full article →

Book Review: Becoming by Michelle Obama
Book Review: Becoming by Michelle Obama

June 05, 2020

"For me, becoming isn't about arriving somewhere and achieving a certain aim. I see it instead as forward motion, a means of evolving, a way to reach continuously toward a better self. The journey doesn't end. I became a mother, but I still have a lot to learn from and give to my children. I became a wife, but I continue to adapt to and be humbled by what it means to truly love and make a life with another person. I have become, by certain measures, a person of power, and yet there are moments still when I feel insecure and unheard. It's all a process, steps...

View full article →