Free shipping on orders of $75 or more. Teacher Appreciation Gift Boxes Available for a limited time. 

Book Review: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

August 21, 2019

Book Review: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

"Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn't know or jumped from lightening too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother."

Synopsis: 

Set in 1969 in the quiet town of Barkley Cove, North Carolina, Where the Crawdads Sing is a coming of age story about a young girl who was abandoned by her family members and left to be raised by the land. Kya, also known by the locals as the Marsh Girl, is the youngest member of a family of 7. At the open of the novel, Kya's family members leave her one by one starting with her mother and ending with her alcoholic and abusive father. As a young girl left all alone, Kya learns to live of the land and to provide for herself. Her journey spans over many years and while shunned by many of the people of Barkley Cove, Kya forms relationships with only a select few who become very pivotal players in her story. Also woven among Kya's tale is the murder of Barkley Cove's beloved Chase Owens and the investigation that ensues. 

My Thoughts: 

I have very mixed feelings about this book, so I'm breaking my thoughts up into the good and the bad. 

The good. If only speaking in terms of enjoyment, then I have to say that I adored this book. While sad and heartbreaking, Kya's tale was very intriguing to me and I loved the author's beautiful descriptions of the marsh and its inhabitants. It many times read like poetry and I could most definitely pick it up again and reread it just to savor the words. 

The bad. I really think that the author did such a great job with the descriptions of the marsh which really makes me wonder why she didn't do a little more research into the geography of North Carolina. The novel is set on the east coast of North Carolina and the author frequently talks about the characters making a trip over to Asheville like it's the next big town over. In actuality, Asheville is on the other side of the state and probably more like 7-8 hours away. I was able to suspend reality enough to still enjoy the novel, but it just seems like a little more care could have been given to getting to know the area. Granted, I have lived in North Carolina for about 12 years, so this may bother me more than others. 

All in all, I think this is definitely a book worth reading and would recommend it for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Pat Conroy. 





Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Blog

COVID-19 Reading Challenge
COVID-19 Reading Challenge

April 01, 2020

Have you heard??? I'm hosting a COVID-19 Reading Challenge and I want you to join me!! Click here to get a printable copy of the challenge. Feel free to email it to a friend and invite them to join as well.  Below you'll find the categories plus book suggestions!

 

View full article →

Spring Diffuser Blends Printable
Spring Diffuser Blends Printable

March 27, 2020

Spring is officially here and I've created a free printable for you with my favorite spring diffuser blends! One of my favorite ways to celebrate the start of each season is to change up the essential oils that I diffuse. Diffusing essential oils ...

View full article →

Saving My Life: A COVID-19 Daily Routine
Saving My Life: A COVID-19 Daily Routine

March 16, 2020

If you're anything like me then this last week has felt like a bit of a roller coaster. Living through something like COVID-19 is new to us all and it feels scary at times. I'm a person that thrives on routine and when I realized my kids would be home...

View full article →