Free shipping on orders of $75 or more!

Book Review: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

August 21, 2019

Book Review: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

"Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn't know or jumped from lightening too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother."

Synopsis: 

Set in 1969 in the quiet town of Barkley Cove, North Carolina, Where the Crawdads Sing is a coming of age story about a young girl who was abandoned by her family members and left to be raised by the land. Kya, also known by the locals as the Marsh Girl, is the youngest member of a family of 7. At the open of the novel, Kya's family members leave her one by one starting with her mother and ending with her alcoholic and abusive father. As a young girl left all alone, Kya learns to live of the land and to provide for herself. Her journey spans over many years and while shunned by many of the people of Barkley Cove, Kya forms relationships with only a select few who become very pivotal players in her story. Also woven among Kya's tale is the murder of Barkley Cove's beloved Chase Owens and the investigation that ensues. 

My Thoughts: 

I have very mixed feelings about this book, so I'm breaking my thoughts up into the good and the bad. 

The good. If only speaking in terms of enjoyment, then I have to say that I adored this book. While sad and heartbreaking, Kya's tale was very intriguing to me and I loved the author's beautiful descriptions of the marsh and its inhabitants. It many times read like poetry and I could most definitely pick it up again and reread it just to savor the words. 

The bad. I really think that the author did such a great job with the descriptions of the marsh which really makes me wonder why she didn't do a little more research into the geography of North Carolina. The novel is set on the east coast of North Carolina and the author frequently talks about the characters making a trip over to Asheville like it's the next big town over. In actuality, Asheville is on the other side of the state and probably more like 7-8 hours away. I was able to suspend reality enough to still enjoy the novel, but it just seems like a little more care could have been given to getting to know the area. Granted, I have lived in North Carolina for about 12 years, so this may bother me more than others. 

All in all, I think this is definitely a book worth reading and would recommend it for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Pat Conroy. 





Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Blog

Book Review: Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry
Book Review: Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry

October 24, 2019

I underlined half the book and cried many times. Anne Bogel from Modern Mrs. Darcy puts this title in the “books to read when you feel like the world is falling apart” category and I wholeheartedly agree. In a way it reads like poetry as Wendell tells the story of Hannah, her husband Nathan, and the rest of the Port William membership. There are a handful of books set in this same town including Nathan Coulter, Jayber Crow, and Andy Catlett...

View full article →

Transitioning Your Skincare for Winter
Transitioning Your Skincare for Winter

October 10, 2019

A while back, I wrote a post about switching up your skincare routine for summer. It can be so very frustrating to think you've gotten your skin figured out only for the season to change and it's almost like you're starting over at ground zero. The truth is that our skin can actually be very different depending on the season. My skin is oilier in the summer and super dry in the winter ...

View full article →

Book Review: Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan
Book Review: Becoming Mrs. Lewis by Patti Callahan

July 08, 2019

In Becoming Mrs. Lewis, author Patti Callahan, writes about the lives of Joy Davidman Gresham and C.S. Lewis. She uses available facts (letters, biographies, etc.) to tell the story of how their paths crossed and the deep love that followed. The novel begins with Joy in New York. She is a struggling writer who is married to an alcoholic with whom she has two sons. Joy experiences a divine moment in her son's nursery which she explains as the moment when God made himself known to her. She learns about C.S. Lewis, also known as Jack, and his own transformation...

View full article →

Some Call Me Crunchy Newsletter

Join my newsletter and get 15% off your first purchase!