Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty

814IW4GaKbL._SL1500_This Moriarty novel begins by flashing forward to the end of the novel where Lyn, Kat, and Gemma Kettle (triplets) are seen by many witnesses having it out in a fancy restaurant as they celebrate their 34th birthday.  After this embarrassing scene is described by many onlookers, Moriarty goes back in time to describe the Kettle sister’s 33rd year of life leading up to their 34th birthday.

Lyn is extremely detailed/goal oriented, married (with the man whose marriage she broke up), and has one teenage step-daughter and a two year old.  Kat is a marketing director at a company that sells chocolates, married to a man she thought she knew so well, and most definitely the bitchy sister.  Gemma is a bit flighty, a former elementary school teacher, and can’t seem to date a man longer than six months.   Along with lots of fun and laughter, this combination of personalities also leads to an exorbitant amount of family drama.

My Thoughts:

Have I mentioned that I am loving Liane Moriarty these days?  I have now read all of her published books and have been scouring the internet to see if I can find out when she will be publishing another.  I believe that Moriarty has truly perfected the multi-narrative approach to novel writing. Hearing the viewpoints from multiple characters helps me to be empathetic towards each of them and makes me wonder how I would treat those in my own life if I could hear their thoughts, viewpoints, and how they approach life.  Fans of Rainbow Rowell and Jojo Moyes will most likely love Liane Moriarty as well.

I also recently discovered that her novel The Truth About Alice is being made into a movie starring Jennifer Aniston and Big Little Lies is going to be an HBO mini-series starring Reese Witherspoon and Nicole Kidman.

Here are my other two Moriarty book reviews:

The Hypnotist’s Love Story

The Last Anniversary 

One thought on “Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s